UPDATE: Just yesterday, October 4, 2023, Governor Newsom signed SB 616 expanding California’s existing Paid Sick Leave Law requiring employers to provide additional state mandate paid sick days to employees.
SB 616, which is expected to expand California’s Paid Sick Leave (PSL) law was passed in the legislature and is on its way to Governor Newsom’s desk. If signed, the bill will expand the number of mandated Paid Sick Leave days to 5 days (40 hours), a major increase than the minimum requirement of 3 days (24 hours) annually. The law would take effect January 1, 2024.
The law allows employers options on how to provide this leave, increases the caps for accrual and aims to eliminate employees coming to work sick. This Bill has received significant support despite the financial cost to employers especially with the recent uptick in Covid-19 cases and is expected to be signed into law.
Still, while this will be a significant change for many businesses, there are several California cities who already have increased Paid Sick Leave requirements beyond the minimum state-wide mandate, making this transition a bit easier including: San Francisco, Emeryville, Oakland, Berkeley, San Diego, Los Angeles and other cities around the Bay Area.
Employers – if you do not have a Paid Sick Leave policy you need to consult the experienced employment lawyers at Chauvel & Glatt. Without a proper policy you are in violation of the California Labor Code and could pay a hefty price. Having proper policies in place and understanding what that means for your business is critical to staying California Labor Compliant.
Stay tuned to Chauvel & Glatt’s Employment blog where we will let you know if, and when, Governor Newsom signs this AB 616 into law, along with other updates on new employment laws effective in the new year.