Paid Sick Leave Signed Into Law in California

California Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. signed the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 this week. See this link for entire text of bill which amends California labor code section 2810.5.

This article states that an employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from their first day of employment is entitled to paid sick days. Note, there are certain exceptions to who qualifies as an employee under this new Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014.

Employees earn sick days at the rate of not less than one hour for every 30 hours worked and is entitled to use their accrued paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment.

This is a big change in California law. Before this, employers were not required to provide sick days. It was the option of the employer. At Chauvel & Glatt, our employment attorneys can help advise employers in changing their workplace policies to comply with this law and remain CA compliant.

Legal News

Related Posts

Minimum wage printed on a page
Employment Law

Minimum Wage Increase Ahead!

Starting January 1, 2023, California will increase its minimum wage to $15.50 per hour regardless of your company size. Currently, California outlines different minimum wage

Read More »
Employee handbook on a wooden desk.
Employment Law

Why You Need an Employee Handbook?

An Employee Handbook is an important tool for both employers and employees. California has extensive and complicated labor laws that an employer is responsible for;

Read More »