california law, legal system and justice concept with a 3d render of a gavel on a wooden desktop and the californian flag on background.

The California Department of Labor’s Award is a Reminder to Ensure your Workplace is run California Compliant!

If employers are not yet aware, California is an employee-friendly state. Meaning, that with several counties in California hopefully opening back up over the next several weeks, employers need to start taking the necessary steps to ensure that, not only are they complying with California’s wage and hours laws, but they have proper employment policies in place and are taking necessary steps to ensure safe working conditions for their employees in light of the ongoing pandemic. Failure to do so can lead to complaints from employees – which ultimately, without having proper policies to address those complaints and/or refute the complaints, can result in costly litigation. Just this past week, the California Labor Commissioner cited a Los Angeles McDonald’s franchisee $125,913 for workplace retaliation and labor law violations – finding that the employer illegally fired four workers for reporting unsafe working conditions during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The Labor Commissioner’s Office enforces more than 45 labor laws that specifically prohibit discrimination and retaliation.  An employer’s greatest weapon in any litigation is proper written policies and a code-compliant handbook – which is drafted for their business, follows their mission and values and is properly implemented with their workforce, whether 5, 50, or 100+ employees. Every business is different and there is no “one-size-fits-all” as far as employment policies go. If you currently do not have any written policies in place governing your workplace, Covid-19, and/or have yet to update your handbook to reflect the laws recently passed in 2021, contact the attorneys at Chauvel & Glatt, LLP to discuss your options to ensure your workplace is compliant.

This material in this article, provided by Chauvel & Glatt, is designed to provide informative and current information as of the date of the post. It should not be considered, nor is it intended to constitute legal advice.  For information on your particular circumstances, please contact Chauvel & Glatt at 650-573-9500.

Legal News

Related Posts

Minimum wage printed on a page
Employment Law

Minimum Wage Increase Ahead!

Starting January 1, 2023, California will increase its minimum wage to $15.50 per hour regardless of your company size. Currently, California outlines different minimum wage

Read More »
Employee handbook on a wooden desk.
Employment Law

Why You Need an Employee Handbook?

An Employee Handbook is an important tool for both employers and employees. California has extensive and complicated labor laws that an employer is responsible for;

Read More »