CDC Updates Its Recommended Isolation & Quarantine Periods

Just when you thought you had it all figured out, the CDC announced on December 27, 2021 changes in the isolation and quarantine periods for people with Covid-19 positive tests as well as those exposed to Covid-19.

Motivated by science, the CDC stated that since transmission occurs early in the course of illness, people who test positive should isolate for 5 days. If asymptomatic on the 5th day, the individual can leave isolation but must continue to mask for 5 more days, with a proper fitting mask to risk infecting others. If you still are having symptoms your employee should not come to work.

The CDC also updated the recommended quarantine period for those exposed to Covid-19. If fully vaccinated and boosted, there is no quarantine requirement, but the employee should wear a proper mask for 10 days after exposure.

For those unvaccinated, or vaccinated but not yet boosted, and exposed to Covid-19 to remain quarantined for 5 days followed again by strict mask use for an additional 5 days as well.  Alternatively, if a 5-day quarantine is not feasible, a required 10-day strict mask wearing requirement is required after exposure.

Regardless of vaccination status, it is recommended that a full PCR test take place on day 5 after exposure.  Anyone who exhibits symptoms as well, should immediately quarantine.

These changes also require you, the employer, to update your Covid-19 prevention plan and protocols to ensure you are adhering to the latest CDC guidelines just recently revised at minimum. Business owners can always stick to stricter policies for their workplace however to limit exposure and minimize the potential for a Covid-19 outbreak.  Also make sure you are complying with local city and state laws, which may also place tougher requirements on your business.  To make sure you are responding properly to Coronavirus in your workplace, please contact your local Employment Attorneys at Chauvel & Glatt.

The material in this article, provided by Chauvel & Glatt, is designed to provide informative and current information as of the date of the post. It should not be considered, nor is it intended to constitute, legal advice or promise similar outcomes. For information on your particular circumstances, please contact Chauvel & Glatt at 650-573-9500. (photo credit: depositphotos.com).

Legal News

Related Posts

Minimum wage printed on a page
Employment Law

Minimum Wage Increase Ahead!

Starting January 1, 2023, California will increase its minimum wage to $15.50 per hour regardless of your company size. Currently, California outlines different minimum wage

Read More »