Minimum Wages Increases Begin July 1, 2016
California leads the country in its favorable treatment of employees raising the minimum wage…again. Since January 2016, California’s minimum wage has been $10.00 per hour, more than the Federal minimum wage. Over the next several years the state minimum wage will gradually increase to $15 by 2022.
In the meantime, many local cities throughout California have established their own minimum wage increases that begin July 1 — less than one month away! Make sure you check your payroll and your non-exempt employees’ salaries, which to be exempt, must be twice the minimum wage on an annual basis.
Here are few cities and their minimum wage requirements which go into effect July 1:
San Francisco: $13.00
Palo Alto: $11.00
Mountain View: $11.00
Santa Clara: $11.00
California’s minimum wage laws do have exceptions. Should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.