Remimder: Californi Minimum Wage Increases on January 1, 2016
Employees in California are required to be paid minimum wage (with some exceptions). Today, California minimum wage is $9.00 per hour. [Note, this is higher than the Federal Minimum wage, which remains at $8.00 per hour, but all California employers must follow the stricter standard when Federal and State laws conflict—the one that is most beneficial to their employees.]
Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage in California will increase to $10.00 per hour. Employers should be looking ahead at payroll and preparing to make timely adjustments to their employee paychecks to reflect the proper minimum wage beginning January 1, 2016.
Remember, minimum wage is not just important for your hourly employees. To ensure that your employees maintain their exempt status, employees must receive twice minimum wage as a minimum salary. Make sure to make the proper adjustments in all your employee pay in time for the New Year.
Wage & Hour litigation is the hottest area of employment law and appears to be ramping up for 2016. Prevent unnecessarily wage claims by consulting with a Chauvel & Glatt employment attorney and make sure you are running your business California compliant.