conceptual sign with words minimum wage increase ahead over blue sky

Minimum Wage Increases January 1, 2021

It’s that time of the year again – California increased the state’s minimum wage. Effective January 1, 2021, the state-wide California minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will be $13 per hour and $14 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees.

As a reminder though, Employers need to check with their local ordinances related to minimum prior to changing their employees’ wages! It is common that a local city ordinance may have a heightened minimum wage requirement. For example, Burlingame City Council recently voted 3-2, to raise the minimum wage for Burlingame to $15, mandating that employers pay at least $15 beginning January 1, 2021. Accordingly, prior to hiring and agreeing to pay any new employee “minimum wage,” an employer must check their local ordinances to see if there is an alternate and specific minimum wage that they must comply with as you must do what is most favorable to your employees. For more information concerning your hiring practices and compensation for employees, please contact the Employer Lawyers at Chauvel & Glatt.

The material in this article, provided by Chauvel & Glatt, is designed to provide informative and current information as of the date of the post. It should not be considered, nor is it intended to constitute, legal advice or promise similar outcomes.  For information on your particular circumstances, please contact Chauvel & Glatt at 650-573-9500. (photo credit: 123rf.com)

 

Related Posts

Employment Law

CalSavers Reminder!

The deadline for private-sector employers who do not have a retirement program to enroll in CalSavers Retirement Savings Program (CalSavers) is soon approaching.  No later

Read More »