Minimum wage printed on a page

Minimum Wage Has Increased Again!

Another year has come and gone, and California has again increased the state’s minimum wage. Effective January 1, 2020, the state-wide California minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will be $12 per hour and $13 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees.

However, don’t rush off to hire a new employee just yet! Make sure you check your local city ordinances which have their own heightened minimum wage requirements, many of which also increased effective January 1, 2020. Some cities, however, like San Francisco, do not have a minimum wage increase until July 1, 2020.  Accordingly, prior to hiring and agreeing to pay any new employee the minimum wage, an employer should check their local ordinances to see if there is an alternate and specific minimum wage requirement that is higher than the state’s. Employers must pay the higher wage to employees. For more information on concerning your hiring practices and compensation for employees, please contact the Employer Lawyers at Chauvel & Glatt.

 

The material in this article, provided by Chauvel & Glatt, is designed to provide informative and current information as of the date of the post. It should not be considered, nor is it intended to constitute, legal advice or promise similar outcomes.  For information on your particular circumstances, please contact Chauvel & Glatt at 650-573-9500.

Legal News

Related Posts

Minimum wage printed on a page
Employment Law

Minimum Wage Increase Ahead!

Starting January 1, 2023, California will increase its minimum wage to $15.50 per hour regardless of your company size. Currently, California outlines different minimum wage

Read More »
Employee handbook on a wooden desk.
Employment Law

Why You Need an Employee Handbook?

An Employee Handbook is an important tool for both employers and employees. California has extensive and complicated labor laws that an employer is responsible for;

Read More »